Clifford P. Kubiak

Clifford P. Kubiak

Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Harold C. Urey Chair in Chemistry

Office: Pacific Hall 4223A
Phone: (858) 822-2665
Department Page: Cliff Kubiak

Clifford P. Kubiak received a Bachelor of Science degree with honors in chemistry from Brown University in 1975 and a Ph. D. in Chemistry from the University of Rochester in 1980, where he worked with Richard Eisenberg. Kubiak was a postdoctoral associate with Mark S. Wrighton at M. I. T. from 1980-81. From there, Kubiak went on to be faculty member at Purdue University from 1982 – 1998. He moved to UCSD in 1998 as Harold C. Urey Endowed Chair Professor and was named Distinguished Professor at UCSD in 2008. During this time he held the position of Chairman of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2002-2006). He has held visiting appointments at Tohoku University, University of Chicago, and University of Erlangen. He was the recipient of the prestigious ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry (2012) and the ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry (2018). Kubiak is an elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2014). He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (2020). Kubiak has served on the Editorial Advisory Boards of Accounts of Chemical Research, Inorganic Chemistry, and Materials Science in Semiconductor Processing. He is the author of over 275 scientific articles.

Select Honors and Awards

Elected, National Academy of Sciences, 2020
ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry, 2018
Basolo Medal for Outstanding Research in Inorganic Chemistry, 2015
Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2014
Inter-American Photochemical Society, Award in Photochemistry, 2013
ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry, 2012
Fellow of the American Chemical Society, 2012
Rochester Distinguished Scholar Medal, 2009
NSF Award for Special Creativity, 2008
Fellow, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, 1996 and 2007

Select Professional Activities

Visiting Associate, Molecular Catalysis, JCAP, DOE Energy Innovation Hub, 2012-
NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative, UCSD, 2007-present
Editorial Advisory Board, Materials Science in Semiconductor Processing, 2011-
Editorial Advisory Board, Inorganic Chemistry, 2003-2007
Editorial Advisory Board, Accounts of Chemical Research, 2003-2006
Chair, American Chemical Society, Division of Inorganic Chemistry, 2005